Dragon Art (and fanart!)

Now then, now then! I thought I’d post something a little different than merely posts about my writing or book related shenanigans. I thought I’d share some of my artwork that I recently made. It’s probably obvious by now that I’m crazy about dragons (I mean, my series – Dragons of Fire and Ice – is about dragons, bizarrely enough.) So, it was with some adult excitement that I came across a book called ‘Drawing Dragons’ in a local shop. Of course I had to get it. It was about DRAGONS! And how to DRAAAAAAAWWWW them! XD And so one day, when I was armed with boredom, a pencil and a pad of paper, I set about trying my hand, quite literally, at drawing a dragon.

Now this book takes you through various steps on how to compose a dragon. It starts off with random circles and lines, and after half a dozen steps or so you have a fully formed and hopefully lovely-looking dragon!

This is the book in question and a sample page so you know what I’m rabbiting on about.

And this is my finished attempt at drawing a dragon. Now this is my first attempt at using the methods described in this book and I was quite surprised at how it turned out. It may not be perfect but I was still very happy with how it looked.

IMG2613A

😀

****

I also have recently made an Oriental-style dragon puppet. The base materials are: a dragon head and tail section which I found on Pinterest, a party hat commonly found in Christmas Crackers, two straws and a block of stained wood. After colouring the head and tail sections, I laminated them both for extra durability, yet left the body section (also known as the party hat!) un-laminated, as I wanted a bit of play and flexibility in it. I then taped the straws to the back of the head and tail sections and jammed the whole lot into holes drilled into the base (the block of wood.) I am very happy with how the whole thing turned out, especially as it was made with very few yet simple components.

Here are a few photographs of it (long shots and close-ups) and also a photograph of it with a few of my other dragons. The ornaments that are shown are actually only a small portion of my whole collection. (yup, I really love dragons! XD )

****

DISCLAIMER: And this part of the blog post has been languishing in my wordpress draft folder for literally months, I tell thee! It’s also very lengthy!

I was tempted to start off this blog post by saying something really cheesy along the lines of – “Like most writers these days, I started off by writing fanfiction.” That wouldn’t be strictly true. I have written a lot of fanfiction over the years, but I didn’t actually start out in fanfic. I started writing at the age of six (roughly thirty years ago now), probably before fanfic became quite as big a thing as it is now; I remember the story I wrote focussed on toys coming to life. (not very original, but bear in mind this was 1986, well before Toy Story was an actual thing.) It’s only since I started posting my work publicly via the medium of fanfic that I started gaining the confidence to then start posting some of my original stuff via Wattpad (which led to me actually trying my hand at selling it via the Amazon platform.)
There’s much to be said for fanfic, both negative and positive, but for the most part I actually enjoyed writing it. I’ve also learnt a lot about the actual art of writing whilst creating fanfic, more so than I ever learned in English classes at school. I’ve done everything from Star Trek, to MCU fics, to some really cheesy Supernatural fics many years ago and loads of other things inbetween. (and I have to admit that I’ve done my fair share of ‘shipping-fics’.) In the last four years or so, I’ve been focussing more on writing stories about my favourite band – Rammstein (as well as a passel of original stuff.) My OTP therefore has been Paul/Richard for the last four years. (I’ve long since given up writing fanfic altogether, however. I want to focus more on my original stories now! 😀 )
Anyhoo, the point of this post actually is …. I’ve recently received my first piece of fanart, for something that’s not actually involved in a fandom Big Bang. A really kind AO3 user drew a lovely piece of artwork for an old series of Rammstein fics I wrote – Kreuzberg Dragonshifters. I was a little bit late in seeing it (as in almost a week late because I rarely check AO3 these days). It was just unbelievable to me to see that something I wrote inspired someone else to draw such a lovely piece of artwork.  (needless to say, I will never be one of those writers who discourage others from creating fanworks off the back of my writing. Just so long as they don’t try to sell the piece in question, claim the original idea as theirs or plagiarise my stuff or anything, then it’s all good to me!)

 

Here’s a link to the artwork in question –

Dragon Fanart by Charlotte_Lancer on AO3.

It was inspired by

my Kreuzberg Dragonshifters series

So there we have it. My dragon related art page!

Leave a Reply

