Book reviews

Okey dokey, I’m posting a LOT of book reviews now. I’m a bit behind with posting these, because I’ve been busy with a LOT of writer-related pursuits recently. (which I’m still busy with! It’s not easy being a writer at times!!!)

 

Mythology - An Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Principal Myths and Religions of the WorldMythology – An Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Principal Myths and Religions of the World by Richard Cavendish

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I bought this book because I am greatly interested in mythology – my greatest interests lie in Norse mythology and also the old German myths. I was greatly surprised by this book, by the breadth and depth of the myths involved – everything from Incan myths, to Asian and everything inbetween (including my beloved Norse myths!). This made for an interesting read, with tons of great illustrations. There were lots of myths that I didn’t previously know, which is a good thing. This is definitely something worth dipping in to from time to time.

View all my reviews

Finders Keepers (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #2)Finders Keepers by Stephen King

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the second/middle story in a trilogy. I haven’t actually read Mr Mercedes (the first o’ the three) but I didn’t feel as though that hindered me in any way. I was able to follow the events in this story and get a handle on the recurring characters pretty much okay, I thought. This story was about obsession, hidden money/manuscripts and perhaps appreciating an author’s writing a little too much. While I can see the similarities drawn between this book and Misery, I still feel as though there are also many differences. (while Annie Wilkes was a bona fide nut-job, she was also quite fun, in her own cock-a-doodie way. Morris Bellamy was just deplorable, I thought.) I did like Pete as a character. I thought he was pretty cool and quite a kind character. I also liked how his story intertwined with both Morrie’s and Bill Hodges’ story, too. I’m not into crime stories very much at all, but I did like this one. I know I will read this one again in the future.

View all my reviews

The New Discworld CompanionThe New Discworld Companion by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a good reference guide for both old and new fans of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. It goes into a lot of bacjground detail regarding characters, locations and the like. It’s also as funny as the novels. I really enjoyed the sections on Death and his house/land, as he has always been my favourite character in the This is definitely something that I’ll be dipping into in the future.

View all my reviews

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I did pick this up because I’ve already read ‘The Girl on the Train’ and kept hearing comparisons between that book and this one. Gone Girl is lot darker in tone than The Girl on the Train and a lot more twisted. Both main characters in this story, Amy and Nick, are unreliable narrators, are not likeable at all and Amy …. well, she puts even Norman Bates to shame! I’m not usually the type to read dark books at all (I’m more the type to read happy fluff) but I did like this quite a bit. It kept me guessing a lot of the time and I thought it was quite cleverly worked out.

View all my reviews

Medieval BritainMedieval Britain by Peter Hepplewhite

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I actually received this book as a gift for my birthday recently, and it was a very interesting book. The writing was easy to understand and held a lot of factual information about medieval times and buildings. There’s lots of lovely photographs detailing various aspects of medieval buildings too. Which is nice.

View all my reviews

The Book of Shadows: A Personal Journal of Your CraftThe Book of Shadows: A Personal Journal of Your Craft by Cassandra Eason

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Beautiful book with a clear and concise introduction, detailing various aspects of the Wiccan path. There are plenty of pages for personal use and the cover is really lovely, too. Very, very nice!

View all my reviews

Leopard Gecko (Pet Expert)Leopard Gecko by Lance Jepson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I recently bought this book as I am very interested in leopard geckos. They are amongst my favourite animals. I thought that it was a quick read, yet a very interesting one. It was very well-written and easy to understand. It also was quite amusing in places with lots of witty asides about gecko husbandry, and I learnt a lot from it. It covers a lot of aspects of leopard gecko care, including setting up their vivarium, temperatures of the vivarium, and how and what to feed the geckos. There are even sections about health care and breeding. There also were lots of gorgeous photos of very beautiful geckos too. I think they are so cute with their little squidgy smily faces! 😀 Its something that I will enjoy again in the future.

EDIT: RE-READ 26/07/2017 This is the second time I’ve read this, or more aptly, I’ve actually referred to parts of it to ‘refreshify the memory’. I need to do this because I’m getting a leopard gecko soon. The above review still stands! Lovely, lovely book.

View all my reviews

Dragons!Dragons! by Jack Dann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I actually was gifted this for my birthday recently and I really enjoyed the short stories in this collection. All of the stories are quite good and really well-written (although I wasn’t keen on the idea that in a couple of the stories, the dragons actually died! XD ) My favourite stories are: ‘Lan Lung’ by M. Lucie Chin, ‘Mrs Byres and the Dragon’ by Keith Roberts and ‘Paper Dragons’ by James P. Blaylock. This is definitely something I’ll be returning to in the future and enjoying just as much!

View all my reviews

All Quiet on the Western FrontAll Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I jumped at the chance of buying this book recently, because I’m interested in war novels (although my interest is more for WWII books.) I’m glad I read this book because it’s obviously a really important book to read and it’s also really well written. It’s so beautiful with how it describes all of the horrific imagery of war, in that it’s almost poetic at times. It describes the very real human face of war, and it’s really heartbreaking to read. I really felt for all of these characters – they’re so young. (the majority of the characters are fresh out of school.) We see everything through the eyes of one such young soldier – Paul Bäumer – and it’s heart-rending to read just how disillusioned he becomes. This is definitely something I would recommend EVERYONE to read, who hasn’t yet and will be something I want to return to in the future as well.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

