a few book reviews

You're Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense LeftYou’re Making Me Hate You: A Cantankerous Look at the Common Misconception That Humans Have Any Common Sense Left by Corey Taylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

DIsCLAIMER TIME: This book is not for the easily offended or faint at heart (and if you read this book and are offended, then you’re totally proving Corey Taylor’s point! ;D )

It’s full of swears and strong opinions on parenting, traffic, airports, ugly kids, selfish/entitled kids and the state of music these days, along with many other subjects. There’s also some hilarious jabs at Justin Bieber in here too. Needless to say, I loved this book. I am a fan of Corey Taylor anyway and I just think he puts everything I think myself into words so eloquently, and so much better than I ever could. I do agree with pretty much every single thing he says. People are, indeed, complete fecking idiots and I’m surrounded by them.

I think Corey Taylor is blunt, honest and very, very truthful. He just doesn’t give two hot shits, either. He’s also unfailingly hilarious and not afraid to point out his own flaws, which I think is wonderfully refreshing. I just love the guy. I love his books. I honestly can’t wait to see what he writes about next. I just know it’s gonna be hilarious, no matter what the subject is and I’ll enjoy it a great deal. Quite likely, I’ll even agree with him again. 😀

View all my reviews

The Ghosts of ConwayThe Ghosts of Conway by Margaret Williams

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was given this as a gift from an old school friend over twenty years ago. She’d been on holiday to Wales (presumably Conway) and was kind enough to think of me when she saw this book. I haven’t read it in a long time and recently re-discovered it. It’s a lovely little book and a very quick read. It has lots of information about Conway as a town, Wales as a country and also, of course, lots of interesting ghost tales. It’s well-written and the use of black and white photos of Conway really add to the book. Very good and something I know that I will be re-reading for years to come.

View all my reviews

The Shadow Project (Ben Hope, #5)The Shadow Project by Scott Mariani

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first Scott Mariani/Ben Hope book I’ve ever read, even though this is the fifth in the series. I did pick this book up because of its connections with WWII. I do love books that focus on WWII anyway (and just to be clear, I’m not a Nazi nor am I a Nazi-sympathiser!). I did enjoy this book. There was quite a lot of action in it which did surprise me. For some reason, I did think this was going to be quite dry in tone, too talky perhaps. I was glad to be proved wrong. I prefer books with lots of action in, so that was good! I know I will read this again in the future. I’m sure it’ll be just as enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

