Resource Post #5: Self Publishing sites

And now for part five of my irregular super-duper dragon-pooper resource posts! This week, I will be mostly talking about self-publishing sites! I am a self-publisher myself (obviously … 😀 ). I am still learning about this though, so apologies if this comes across as quite vague. You never do stop learning, so that’s a good thing.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of EXCERPT

#1: Amazon KDP

The first one is probably one that most people hear of first and that’s Amazon KDP. (or Kindle Direct Publishing if you’re not a complete lazy-bum dragon like me, most of the time!) This gives you the option of either publishing by e-book, which is supported by the Kindle platform (or Kindle app for the smart-phone.). There is also the option to make your book available by paperback. I can’t speak for the smartphone app, as I don’t have a smartphone, so I don’t know how good that service is. (I only access the internet via my laptop. I don’t like phones.) I know the e-books for the Kindle are really nice to view, and the paperbacks are really nice quality too.

The site is easy to use and there are tons of help pages to get you going. This is the actual blurb from the front page, which explains it a little better than I ever could.

Get to market fast. Publishing takes less than 5 minutes and your book appears on Kindle stores worldwide within 24-48 hours.
Make more money. Earn up to 70% royalty on sales to customers in the US, Canada, UK, Germany, India, France, Italy, Spain, Japan, Brazil, Mexico, Australia and more. Enroll in KDP Select and earn more money through Kindle Unlimited and the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library.
Keep control. Keep control of your rights and set your own list prices. Make changes to your books at any time.
Publish in digital and print. Publish Kindle eBooks and paperbacks for free on KDP.

LINKS: KDP

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of EXCERPT (1)

#2: Smashwords

I don’t actually use this site for self-publishing, but I have sampled the site before. I also have downloaded a couple of books from here too before and the process is really nice and really simple. This is reasonably easy to use and you do have the option for making your books available on several platforms (and not just the Kindle. This is handy for me, personally, considering I don’t even have a Kindle ….. I actually use a Nook! 😀 ) You also have the option of setting a price for your books or making them available for free. The site is also easy to search, with a wide range of books available in various genres.

Smashwords

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of EXCERPT (2)

#3: Draft2Digital

This is another site that I don’t use myself as I’m committed to Amazon, but this is another good site to use. It’s also very simple to use. I have sampled it, so I know that it is trust-worthy and not dodgy in the slightest. It’s basically the same in format as KDP and Smashwords, in that you choose the price (and therefore, royalties) and whatnot. You can convert your books into e-book and paperback if you wish to do so. This is a nicely set-out site and looks very clean and professional. There are plenty of help pages in order to help you get going.

Draft2Digital

And of course, if you’re not bothered about getting paid (o_O), then you do have the option of going to Wattpad to publish your stories for free. (or if you’re more into fanfic, then you have the AO3, fanfiction.net, among many others.)

As with all previous resource posts, I will add to this as I discover more or are nudged in the right direction of some good sites. I would never knowingly recommend something that I know is untrustworthy or that I haven’t sampled for myself in some way. These posts are just something that I’ve put together in order to help others, as I know these kinds of things have me out a great deal in the past.

And for now, bis bald!

Leave a Reply

