A passel of book reviews

Storm WarningStorm Warning by Jack Higgins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I originally picked up this book (and obviously bought it!)) from a local shop because it was a WWII story. (I love WWII stories.) I also have read a few books by Jack Higgins before and liked them, so I knew that there’d be a good chance I’d like this one too. It was different to what I expected it to be, but that’s not a bad thing at all. The WWII story was just mainly in the background, and the actual focus of the tale was on the transportation of a gaggle of nuns, sailors and a passel of other crew across the sea, from Brazil to Kiel. It was different, like I said and i liked it because of that. I thought it was well written and had a lot of action in it. I really felt a lot of the time as though I was on a storm-tossed ship! 😀 So even though it wasn’t what I expected, I know I will be reading this again another time.

View all my reviews

The A-Z of British Ghosts: An Illustrated Guide to 236 Haunted SitesThe A-Z of British Ghosts: An Illustrated Guide to 236 Haunted Sites by Peter Underwood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is not the first time that I’ve read this (actually, the first time was over twenty years ago) but I think I enjoyed reading it more this time than I did before. (I couldn’t exactly tell you why that is, though. Perhaps it’s an age thing – I’m probably more appreciative of things the older i get.) I thought it had a lot of interesting tales about ghosts all over England, although it wasn’t exactly extensive. (for example, there are plenty of cracking ghost tales in the Spalding and Boston area which sadly didn’t get a mention.) I think that’s only a minimal quibble on my part though, as I did really enjoy this book! The photographs of the building described in some of the tales were cool too and the fact that they were in black and white added to the creepiness of it!

View all my reviews

Mad About the Boy (Bridget Jones, #3)Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I must admit that this isn’t the type of book I usually read at all, but I’ve always liked Helen Fielding’s books as they’re so funny! I actually started reading the books after I saw the films …. even though they’re also not my usual type of film. So when I recently saw a copy of this book in a local shop I had to pick it up and also pay for it, as I remembered how much I enjoyed the previous two. This book made me laugh quite a lot of times; it’s nice to see that Bridget is still quite the scatter-brain, even though this book is set twenty years after the previous two. I was quite surprised to see that Mark Darcy had died in this … although I think it might not have been a surprise to many, judging by the other reviews I’ve read! (then again, because I don’t ordinarily read this type of story, I must have missed out on quite a lot of news about the Bridget Jones books and whatnot. I usually have my head in a book about dragons or vampires and the like, though!!!)

View all my reviews

Shadow of the King (Pendragon's Banner Trilogy, #3)Shadow of the King by Helen Hollick

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a great end to a trilogy focussing on the life and times of King Arthur. I do like how Helen Hollick writes – it’s so descriptive and you really can imagine the scenes as they’re unfolding, almost like you’re there.  I do love stories about King Arthur anyway, so was bound to like these books; I still like the fact that Helen Hollick painted him as a flawed hero rather than a saint! I know I will be reading this book (and indeed the others in the trilogy) again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

