A lot of book reviews

The AntipopeThe Antipope by Robert Rankin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is not the first Robert Rankin book I’ve ever read (that would have been The Witches of Chiswick), but it is the first story in his Brentford Trilogy (which isn’t actually a trilogy!) I actually picked this up because I’ve loved other books in the Rankin cannon and it didn’t disappoint. This was a quick, yet really enjoyable read, focussing on the end times, some pretty strange shenanigans at the pub, a weirdo tramp who’s more than he seems, a passel of magic beans that turn into some kind of strange pod people, a rather cracked-up Cowboy Night, a cut-price exorcism and I don’t even know what else! As can be expected, it was a surreal and really funny ride. I do love surreal stories anyway and this can be easily categorised alongside Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman (all authors I do enjoy reading, too.) I liked the characters too, especially Jim and John. This is definitely something I will enjoy returning to at a later date.

View all my reviews

Clark the SharkClark the Shark by Bruce Hale

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okey dokey. I must confess that I actually watched this as a video on YouTube, mainly because Chris Pine was reading it! 😀 (Chris Pine is one of my favourite actors.) I did actually enjoy this story, which was about a shark who’s very rowdy and over-enthusiastic in his school-classes. The moral of the story is, that you can enjoy things but you must show consideration towards others and their feelings. (I think a lot of people, adults included, could learn a lot from this tale to be honest, hehe.)

I thought the story was very cute with a nice moral, and the artwork was also really nice. I loved all the pictures of fish, as I love fish anyway and even have some as pets. I particularly loved the pictures of the little clownfish – very cute. Chris Pine’s rendition of the tale was really good, of course, and very funny, too. It’s funny how I’m reading/watching a lot of stories intended for children of late, even though I’m in my late thirties (with no kids …. ) I suppose that it just goes to show that a good story can appeal to all age groups.

View all my reviews

Dragons Love TacosDragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay dokey, so I first heard about the sequiel to this via the BookRiot newsletter and decided to give this series a whirl. I love dragons as much as dragons love tacos apparently. I actually watched the video of this story on YouTube and thought it was very amusing. It focusses on dragons loving tacos so much they have a taco party. Of course, they don’t like spicy salsa as it gives them the tummy rumbles and flames. It has a funny ending and lots of amusing pictures (and some pretty cute dragons too.) Quite an enjoyable book.

View all my reviews

Dragons Love Tacos 2: The SequelDragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This pretty much covers some of the same ground as the first book (ie dragons love tacos but don’t give them spicy salsa et cetera.) This does have the additional plot-thread of time travel, in which our intrepid hero goes back in time, in which to replenish the world’s taco supplies (they’ve run out in our current timeline, apparantly.) He then grows a taco tree (as you do) and voila! Loads of tacos! As ever, the illustrations are amusing and the dragons are cute. I watched this video on YouTube and enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

The Princess DiaristThe Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Even though I’m not a fan of Star Wars I was, however, interested in reading (or rather listening) to Carrie Fisher’s book, The Princess Diarist. I did hear a lot about how funny and interesting the book was and so, I actually listened to this as an audiobook, when I had the chance to. I really loved it. It was very interesting to hear about her experiences onset (or at least those she recounted) and of her affair with Harrison Ford. I thought that she was really funny and she made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion. I loved the fact that Carrie Fisher herself narrated the majority of the book (other than her actual journal entries.) She was a bold woman, very forthright and really honest, I thought. She was also a great writer and a lot of her experiences were very relatable. I do have her other books (also in audiobook format) and plan to listen to them when I next have the chance.

(R.I.P. Carrie Fisher)

View all my reviews

Forgotten Voices of the Secret War: An Inside History of Special Operations in the Second World WarForgotten Voices of the Secret War: An Inside History of Special Operations in the Second World War by Roderick Bailey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book a while ago as I’m interested in anything to do with WWII. This book focusses on first person POV’s of the various people (military and civilians alike) who were involved in various operations with the SOE. Overall this is quite an interesting collection of tales. Quite a lot were harrowing (as can be expected) whilst otehrs were quite amusing. Definitely worth reading and something I’d like to return to again in the future.

View all my reviews

Everything's EventualEverything’s Eventual by Stephen King

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have been a fan of Stephen King’s books for years – I think the first one I ever read was Pet Semetery (I can never think of that book without singing the Ramones song of the same name. heh). I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a while and have only just got around to reading it now. I enjoyed the book and liked the fact that there were fourteen different stories to mull over, instead of one great big giant whopper of a novel. While some stories were better than others, I don’t think there were any that I truly disliked, y’know? Some worked a lot for me and others didn’t for various reasons. My favourites were – 1408 (because I love haunted room stories), The Road Virus Heads North (because that darned painting was genuinely creepy), The Little Sisters of Eluria (because I love fantasy stories), In The Deathroom (because the tension on this one was quite high) and The Death of Jack Hamilton (because I love gangster stories). This is yet another book that I will be enjoying again in the future.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

