A Surfeit of Book Reviews

Odd Dog OutOdd Dog Out by Rob Biddulph

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t actually read this book for myself, as I watched Tom Hardy read it on YouTube. (to be honest, I watched it more for Tom Hardy than for the story as I wasn’t familiar with the book previously … *cough*shallow*cough*) I did actually really like the story. It had a powerful message about being proud of who you are, despite being different from anyone else. I’m quite often the odd one out in the crowd myself, so it resonated really powerfully with me. And Tom Hardy did a top notch job of reading the story, of course. 😀

View all my reviews

A Slip of the Keyboard: Collected Non-FictionA Slip of the Keyboard: Collected Non-Fiction by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I bought this book as I’ve been a fan of Terry Pratchett’s for years (since my school days, so we’re talking over twenty years, here) and so, I was interested in reading his non-fiction stuff. As expected, this collection of essays, articles and speeches were hilariously funny and endlessly interesting. There were some moments where I had to stop reading for five minutes because I was laughing so much. The third section of the book was quite difficult to read as it was so poignant and moving. Mr Pratchett’s essays focussed on being diagnosed with Alzheimers and upon the right to choose the moment to die.

As other reviewers of this same book have said, this book does get a little repetitive when you read these essays back to back, but it doesn’t detract from the interest. I enjoyed gaining an insight into what Mr Pratchett’s working life was like. It was even more surprising to find that he held the same viewpoint on writing as I do – in a nutshell, if he didn’t write every day than he felt like a bum. (that’s how I feel about my own writing.) The sections on conventions and book signings were also interesting and gave an insight into what it was like on the other side of the curtain, as it were (ie, if you weren’t an attendee.)

Again, as other reviewers have said, this book has a lot of appeal for fans and people who are not yet fans alike. This is definitely a must read.

View all my reviews

DinoMechs: Battle Force JurassicDinoMechs: Battle Force Jurassic by Isaac Stone

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t really know what to expect when i began listening to this on audiobook, but I enjoyed it more than I thought that I would – which can only be a good thing. Like most kids, I grew up loving dinosaurs and sci-fi (both of which I still love at 36.) I was thrilled to see both incorporated into the same story, which is why I decided to give this audiobook a go.

The story follows the adventures of Clay, a man who goes from being a convicted felon to becoming a captain of a DinoMech squadron; they fought against alienesque invaders with their own force of kaiju. I liked Clay (the main protag.) as a character and of course inevitably I liked Terry the Tyrannosaurus Rex. (I’m not sure if I was supposed to laugh at that name, but I did think it quite amusing!)

I would have liked to have seen more of the other DinoMechs, as they received nothing more than scant references throughout the story. (even though, for me, the T.Rex pwns everything else.) I have to admit that I did feel sad that Terry got wasted near the end of the book. (and by that, I mean killed, not drunk!)

The narrator did a good job of reading the story, I thought and i liked his use of different accents for different characters. It made it more rounded and a little more fleshed out. I know that this audiobook will be something I’ll enjoy returning to in the future.

View all my reviews

 

And now for something completely different!

Because I’m a sad little dragon, I answered a question that Goodreads posed to me earlier this week, on my ‘Ask the Author’ function on the site. This is the question and answer and whatnot, as I thought I might as well put it here and whatnot. Too many whatnots in the stew.

godreads

And this is just a smidgeon and a tad of the books I’ve got lined up to read ….

IMG2465A

Leave a Reply

