Review: The Kingmaking

The Kingmaking
The Kingmaking by Helen Hollick

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I initially bought this book (and the following two novels) because I am a fan of anything to do with King Arthur. I’m glad I did as I greatly enjoyed this book. I loved the way that the writing flowed at a natural pace, as though it was perhaps written with the intention of being read aloud. I also liked the fact that there were a lot of things going on, such as battles, kidnaps, murders, political intrigues et ceteraaaa. I didn’t really get bored, which is unusual for me when reading such a long book. (600+ pages is a long book to me.)

Most of the characters were actually quite deplorable, to be honest (but I’m sure they were intended to be.) Winifred was a complete bitch, for a start! Even Arthur himself came across as a complete pig, even committing rape at one point. (I really didn’t like that section of the book.) I really did like Gwenhwyfar as a character though – she was a tomboy, strong, brave, intelligent and given over to extreme kindnesses at times. She was my favourite to read about in this book. Why she put up with so much shit from Arthur, though, I don’t know!

I am, admittedly, a big fan of fantasy novels, but I did like the fact that this book took a more historical slant, rather than fantasy. It made a rather refreshing change to place Arthur in a more historical setting.

So yes, all in all, I did enjoy this book, and am looking forward to reading the next two books when I get the chance.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

