Three Book Reviews

I have been really slacking, and my blog has been sorely lacking in book reviews of late. And now, like the London bus, three reviews come along at once! (I think I’m in a poetic mood tonight.)

The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth CenturyThe Time Traveller’s Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century by Ian Mortimer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a very interesting read. I bought this to help me with research on the time period and I’m glad that I did. I learned a lot from it. I also thought that it wasn’t ‘dry’ in tone like a lot of history books are and I really liked that about it. It was like non-fiction dressed up in fiction clothing! Also another thing was that not only was it interesting, it was quite amusing, too. It helps to remember the facts if you get a laugh out of it. It was set out in clearly defined sections, such as the landscape, the characters of the people in those times, what to eat, what to do, etc. This will definitely be something that I will return to in future.

View all my reviews

The Festivus MiracleThe Festivus Miracle by Kim Fielding

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I actually listened to the audio version of this book. I’m glad that I did, as it’s a very cute story and I mean that in the very best sense! I really, really love cute, happy and fluffy stories like this anyway. This story focusses on a burgeoning love story between two male students who met in a student lounge. And there was a happy ending too, which is a really good selling point for me! (I really really do not like stories that have sad, dark or depressing overtones.) I also find stories like this really comforting too; it’s like being wrapped up in a fuzzy rainbow blanket. Rainbow blankets are my kind of blankets! ;D I really liked the characters of Tony and Eddy; they both were really cute. I loved the descriptions of all the food, too (that’s another big selling point for me – detailed food descriptions!) This is something that I will enjoy listening to again in the future. Really really good!

View all my reviews

The Canterville GhostThe Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I actually listened to the audio version of this. I honestly thought that I’d never read this story before, but after the first five minutes of listening to it, I realised I actually had read it a long time ago. I don’t know why I would have forgotten that, but then again, I’ve read a lot of books and whatnot. That didn’t stop me from enjoying it however. It’s a good story. The first half of it is quite funny, and also very surreal, too. I like surreal things so that was a good thing. The story focussed on an American family moving into an English home, and discovering that the place harbours an evil ghost. Cue much shenanigans trying to remove the blood stains that kept appearing on the floor, as well as throwing pillows and whatnot at the ghost’s unsuspecting head. The second half of the story features a shift in tone, and focusses more on the teenage daughter of the Otis Family helping the ghost to claim closure on his life. It was quite sombre in tone, yet still quite enjoyable. I’m sure that I will enjoy listening to this story again. I really must find my prose copy of this, as I’d like to read that again at another stage too.

View all my reviews

And now, I’m currently reading ….

12968832

Leave a Reply

