Reading Without Walls – Completed Challenge!

This week, I have mostly been participating in the Reading Without Walls 2017 challenge. Here are the books that I chose to read for it.

1) Read a book about a character who doesn’t look like you or live like you.

I kind of cheated with this one, because I chose something that I’d already read for this part of the challenge. I had only just finished reading it on the day I decided to take the challenge on, though.The book I chose was Vendetta by Michael Dibdin. I chose this because Aurelio Zen, the main character in the novel, doesn’t live like me. He lives in Rome (I live in England.) He’s a police detective (I’m not.)

Here’s my review: 

Vendetta (Aurelio Zen, #2)Vendetta by Michael Dibdin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although this is the second Zen novel, this is the first one I’ve ever read. I actually started reading these because I’ve recently watched the 2011 mini-series from the BBC. (and I only watched that for Rufus Sewell … 😀 I came for Rufus, and stayed for the story. And I really wish I could think of a way to re-word the first part of that last sentence so that it was a bit more work-friendly *wink wink nudge nudge say no more*…. XD )

Considering I enjoyed the mini-series so much, I thought that I would track down the actual books that inspired the show. Thankfully I did and here we are, reading one of the books. I enjoyed it a lot, even though the TV show differed quite a bit from the original storyline (as per usual … ). I thought that it was very well written and even quite amusing in places. I enjoyed getting inside Zen’s head more and I really liked him as a character. I’m not usually even interested in ‘detective’ or crime/mystery stories, so I surprised myself by liking the Zen series so much. In fact, it really put me in mind of Wallander (both TV series and books) which is another rare ‘crime series’ I really enjoyed.

So aye, I will be reading this book again and will also look forward to reading more in this series.

View all my reviews

2) Read a book about a topic you don’t know much about.

For the second option, I chose Eyewitness: Medieval Life. I recently bought this book because I wanted to do extra research for my Dragons of Fire and Ice series, and books are always easier for me to flick through than performing Google searches. (I tend to procrastinate more when I’m using Google. ;D )

Here’s my review:

Medieval LifeMedieval Life by Andrew Langley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although the Eyewitness books are aimed at the younger audience, I found that this book was a good introduction to the medieval era even for adults. (I’m allegedly an adult.) I thought that this was a quick and informative read, with lots of detailed photographs. I also thought that all of the information was really clearly explained, which is nice. I bought this book to aid me with research into the era and it proved to be a fun place to start! (now onto more research!)

Read as part of ‘Reading Without Walls’ challenge 2017 and filled the requirements for the second option – 2) Read a book about a topic you don’t know much about.

View all my reviews

3) Read a book in a format that you don’t normally read for fun (a graphic novel, a book in verse, or an audiobook).

For the third and final option, I chose a poetry book. I’m not really into poetry, although I don’t, like, really, really dislike it or anything. It’s not my usual go-to thing. Soooo, I chose to read a book that I’ve had on my bookshelf for 30+ years and rarely read. It’s also a Ladybird book of Animal Poems!!! 😀 (I only literally have about 5 poetry books in amongst …. countless gazillions of books on my bookshelves.)

Here’s my review for it.

Animal Poems (Poetry series 831)Animal Poems by Audrey Daly

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a book that I’ve had since my childhood, and is something that I’m only just returning to now. I actually recently found out that this was printed in 1984 and I must have been given this not long after that by my parents. This is a delightful collection of poems, featuring such diverse animals as walruses, kangaroos, lions, tigers, and even dogs and cats. My favourite poems were ‘The Tyger’ by William Blake and ‘The Owl and The Pussy-cat’ by Edward Lear.

Read as part of ‘Reading Without Walls’ challenge 2017 and filled the requirements for the third option – 3) Read a book in a format that you don’t normally read for fun (a graphic novel, a book in verse, or an audiobook).

View all my reviews

 

So, yay!! My Reading Without Walls challenge is now completed! *Muppet dance*

Incidentally, it’s also National Library Week. (I wish we had something cool like this here in England! Then again, we might have and I just don’t know about it!!!)

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Happy button day

Leave a Reply

