Two Book Reviews

ElidorElidor by Alan Garner

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a short but fairly entertaining story about four children who find their way into a magical kingdom. They are entrusted with the care of four treasures, which they must guard from getting into the wrong hands. It’s a pretty surreal little tale (which is not a bad thing, as I love surreal things), and there are plenty of creepy moments. There are some aspects of it that I felt weren’t properly explained, and the ending was pretty abrupt, but all in all, I quite liked the book. I’m sure I would have loved this when I was a kid. I don’t know how I missed out on it at the time, to be honest, especially as I loved things like The Hobbit when I was a little dragonet. Never mind. I’m playing catch-up now! 😀

View all my reviews

Crested Gecko (Pet Expert)Crested Gecko by Lance Jepson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Really lovely book detailing all aspects of crested gecko husbandry.It was a quick read, but a very interesting one; it also was quite humourous too, which made for better reading. I learnt a lot from it, such as where they originate from and the fact that they are also sometimes referred to as eyelash geckos, on account of the crests above their eyes. There also were lots of beautiful photos of crested geckos, and their cheeky, squidgy faces.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

