Three Book reviews and an achievement

Bearded Dragons (Expert Series)Bearded Dragons by Lance Jepson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a quick and interesting read, about the care and feeding of bearded dragons. There were lots of lovely photos of the dragons, as well as easy to read, clear instructions about how to set up and maintain the vivarium and how to keep your pet dragon healthy. This is ideal for first time owners of bearded dragons.

View all my reviews

Planet of the ApesPlanet of the Apes by Pierre Boulle

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I actually listened to the audiobook version of this book, as read by Greg Wise. After watching the movies countless times over the years, I couldn’t help but nab this when I had the chance to, as I was curious about it. I rather enjoyed the tale, of a contingent of three French men (a journalist, a physicist and a professor) and their plight after they’d landed on a planet entirely inhabited by rather advanced apes. I enjoyed listening to the story, as I was not familiar with the book that sparked off so many screen adaptations (of both film and TV incarnations) but I did find the endless insistence on referring to the apes as “monkeys” weirdly irritating. I know that I will listen to this audiobook again in the future, with as much enjoyment as this time.

View all my reviews

JUDGE DREDD MEGAZINE 381JUDGE DREDD MEGAZINE 381 by Alan Grant

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a quick read, with lots of interesting articles and some cool stories. I loved the artwork, especially the illustrations of the lovely dragons (shame they were psychic constructs though! I would have loved it more if they were real dragons.) I know I’ll enjoy this again in the future.

View all my reviews

And because I read and added these books to my Goodreads account, I have now completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 40 books!!! I did have it in mind that it would take all year to read those 40 books, but I was wrong. I don’t think I’ll update my challenge now that I’ve completed it. I’m just curious now as to how many books I really will read this year … dun dun DUNNNN!

 

Leave a Reply

