Three Book Reviews

SS-GBSS-GB by Len Deighton

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I initially decided to read this book because I’ve been enjoying watching ‘The Man in the High Castle’ series (made by Amazon) and I recently read somewhere that SS-GB was recommended for fans of TMITHC. I love Alternate History/Alternate Universe stories of all kinds anyway, so thought that this might be quite a good book. (I know that there is also a BBC adaptation of SS-GB, but I sadly didn’t get on with it very well.)

This book follows a police Superintendant – Archer of the Yard – as he’s investigating a murder in Nazi-Occupied England. The story is set in 1941. There was quite a lot going on, what with the murder itself, and people double-crossing one another here, there and everywhere, explosions, and even scenes set in a concentration camp. Archer himself is more like a sarcastic observer of events and I liked his character a lot.

All in all, I liked this book, more so for the AU aspect of it rather than the police procedural side of it. I think that this book will be something I’ll enjoy again in the future.

View all my reviews

Leopard Gecko (Pet Expert)Leopard Gecko by Lance Jepson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I recently bought this book as I am very interested in leopard geckos. They are amongst my favourite animals. I thought that it was a quick read, yet a very interesting one. It was very well-written and easy to understand. It also was quite amusing in places with lots of witty asides about gecko husbandry, and I learnt a lot from it. It covers a lot of aspects of leopard gecko care, including setting up their vivarium, temperatures of the vivarium, and how and what to feed the geckos. There are even sections about health care and breeding. There also were lots of gorgeous photos of very beautiful geckos too. I think they are so cute with their little squidgy smily faces! 😀 Its something that I will enjoy again in the future.

View all my reviews

Esio TrotEsio Trot by Roald Dahl
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a really cute story and something I remember reading when I was young, about thirty years ago. I also watched the film adaptation of this story a couple of years ago, which featured Dustin Hoffman and Dame Judi Dench and enjoyed the tale all over again. I had meant to read the actual prose story after watching the film, but sadly never got around to it … until now. I actually listened to the audiobook version, read by Quentin Blake, and found that I enjoyed the story as much as I did when I was young. It focusses upon a lonely but kindly retired man called Mr Hoppy who woos his downstairs neighbour, Mrs Silver, through helping her to entice her much-loved pet tortoise, Alfie, into growing larger. Of course, he merely swaps tortoises around and the Bedouin chants he plies Mrs Silver with are complete nonsense. It’s an amusing and sweet little tale and is a reminder of how much I actually love Roald Dahl’s stories; I think they’re timeless and ageless and anyone can enjoy them. It’s definitely something I will be listening to again. (I forgot to say until now that I also enjoyed Quentin Blake’s reading of Esio Trot, too.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

