Review: Tranny: Confessions of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout

Tranny: Confessions of Punk Rock's Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout
Tranny: Confessions of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout by Laura Jane Grace

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I must admit that I’m quite a recent fan of Against Me! and I feel almost like a bit of a latecomer, really, considering how long they’ve been around! I only got to know of them after Laura Jane Grace’s transition. I was thrilled to find out that she’d written a memoir and so decided to read it, as I was very interested in it. I’m glad I did; I thought it was a really interesting, and very well-written book. I found out a lot about the history of Against Me! (which obviously I wouldn’t have known previously, as I am so new to the band.) It was at times funny, thought-provoking and always unfailingly honest. That was the one thing that struck me about this book, was how honest Laura is. She didn’t hold back any punches or sugar-coat anything and I really respect that. It makes a refreshing change to come across someone like that. She’s also very self-aware and not afraid to admit when and where she went wrong or admit to whenever she was a bit of an arse to people. I also thought that the inclusion of some of her journal entries to be a nice touch; I thought that it showed that she was willing to be open about everything.

Laura’s also painfully honest about her struggles with her dysphoria and how badly it affected absolutely every single thing in her life. If only she had known the reason behind why she was feeling the things that she did a lot earlier …. Then again, it’s only in the last few years that information about dysphoria and the trans* community has become more accessible, via the internet. This is why it’s so important that the LGBTQ+ community as a whole needs more visibility – it would help many, many more people understand themselves a lot better, and a lot sooner.

This is definitely an important book. It was one that I couldn’t put down. I read the entire book in about two days, which is really, really fast for me. Definitely something that I’ll be re-reading again in the future.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

