Review: The Hidden Kingdom

The Hidden Kingdom
The Hidden Kingdom by Tui T. Sutherland

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book, more than I thought that I would, to be honest. I never really ‘connected’ with Glory as a character in the previous two books (I prefer Clay as a character, because he’s a little cutie and I can identify with the nerdy, bookish Starflight). I was a little hesitant to start this entry in the series, which is told entirely from Glory’s POV. I must say though, that I definitely warmed to Glory as a character – so much so, that I felt proud of her and her achievements by the end of it. It was nice to be able to get into her head and read about why she was so cranky and cold in previous books. She actually never really felt a part of anything, which I think a lot of people (and most definitely me!) can identify with. She needn’t have worried – she’s just as important as anyone else. Just to think that some old prophecy really means little in the grand scheme of things – ‘there’s no fate but what we make for ourselves.’ Wrong franchise, I know, but still applicable! XD

I’m really, really loving these books. I know this series is intended for an audience a lot younger than me (I’m 36), but these are brilliant. I wish I had had these books to read when I was a lot younger, but I don’t think that matters, to be honest. I’m still enjoying them, now. I would say they’re a ‘guilty pleasure’, but there’s no sense in finding guilt over a pleasure, really. XD I just love, love, love this series. They’re funny, and full of action and mystery, and the characters are great, even the bad guys. I love how they’re written, too – it’s a great style of writing. It’s absolutely perfect for a dragon-lover like me! I’m very much looking forward to reading more in this series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

