Review: Clifford’s Blues

Clifford's Blues
Clifford’s Blues by John A. Williams

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a very interesting piece, focussing on a gay black male inmate of Dachau who records events in the form of a diary. It was interesting because it gave an unusual, not often explored perspective on concentration camps; Clifford, (the protag.) served time as a house-servant to an SS officer and his wife. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book quite like it before, to be honest. I did find a lot of instances a little unrealistic perhaps – like for instance, how many times Clifford smart-mouthed Dieter (who is a fairly high-ranking SS officer and therefore should have been quite the scary dude) without many noticable repercussions – but other than that, I thought John A. Williams had done an appreciable amount of research into the era. I am a massive nerd for anything music-related, so enjoyed the blues musician angle of the piece. This is another book to go into my collection of WWII related era books.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

