Review: Coraline

Coraline
Coraline by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I listened to the audiobook of this tale, read by Neil Gaiman, and enjoyed it very much. I have, as yet, to read the proper prose version of it but will do when I get the chance to. It’s dark, it’s creepy, it’s very, very Gothic and surreal. I’m really into the gothic and surreal anyway, so yay, I loved it! I can’t help but wonder about the other mother’s tale and backstory and whatnot. What the dickens made her so twisted and dark? 😄 I suppose that’s a good thing when a story leaves you wondering about something or other.

This is only the second tale from Neil Gaiman I’ve read/listened to (the other was Neverwhere) and I’m very much looking forward to reading a lot more of his stuff. (then again, I have read Good Omens, however. I don’t know whether that strictly counts as a Gaiman tale, considering as it was a collab. with Terry Pratchett?)

View all my reviews

****

Truckers: The First Book of the NomesTruckers: The First Book of the Nomes by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a really quick read, but a funny one. I’ve been a fan of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series for years, but haven’t ever read any of his Bromeliad series before. This is despite having the entire trilogy on my bookshelf …. *shifty eyes* The Nomes were very funny, at turns really profoundly clever and at other times silly-stupid. The humour was surreal (I love surreal humour, so this is a good thing) and their flight from Arnold Bros (est. 1905) action-packed and mad. I’m looking forward to reading the other books in this series when I get the chance now.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

