Review: Wartime Women: A Mass-Observation Anthology

Wartime Women: A Mass-Observation Anthology
Wartime Women: A Mass-Observation Anthology by Dorothy Sheridan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a really interesting account of what life was like during the war, as told by those who actually lived through it. It was a fascinating account of the women who filled jobs as welders, for instance, and of how they felt when taking in evacuees and billeting soldiers. I learnt quite a bit through reading this, although I found the diary entries and letters and whatnot more interesting than the actual M.O. reports (the reports were a little dry for me.)

I enjoyed this enough to dip into again in the future. A nice addition to my collection of WWII books!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

