My Top Books of 2016

It’s always fun to look back on the year that’s passed, to see what books have been enjoyed and what ones haven’t so much.  I only joined Goodreads in July of this year (2016), so I really only have 6 months of books to look back on. It’s still amusing to have a look back on them though. Perhaps next year, I’ll have a great deal more to reminisce about.

I took part in the Goodreads reading challenge this year and initially set myself the task of reading 15 books. I really didn’t think I would have the time to read more than that. I didn’t! I actually read 62, in the end, and that was even after I changed my reading target to 30 books! 😀 Wowza!

I thought it would be fun to post the reviews I left on Goodreads, for the books that I enjoyed the most this year.  They’re not books from this year; they just happen to be books I read this year.

So here they are, in no particular order.

Prey by Michael Crichton

PreyPrey by Michael Crichton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. I love sci-fi books anyway, especially the post-apocalyptic/nano-bot/OMG THE AI IS TAKING OVER kind of thing, if it’s done right. I thought that ‘Prey’ had an interesting concept and something that I could imagine happening, especially given the rate in which technology is advancing these days. I also felt like I learned something about nano-technology and genetic engineering and even a little about computer programming through reading this book. I really felt as though Michael Crichton had done his research, even though it felt like I was cramming for a science test or something at times. (that’s not actually a complaint. Science was actually one of my strongest subjects at school, along with English.) The only thing that I genuinely did struggle with at times was the short sentence structures. I’m not a fan of that type of writing at the best of times as I often find it jerky and unnatural (you wouldn’t naturally talk to people in such a way, for instance, so why would you really want to write like it?) It was the strength of the plot and the overall premise that kept me reading, however.

So yes, I enjoyed the book and I think it’s something that I will re-read and enjoy again in the future.

View all my reviews

Trust (Temptation #3) by Ella Frank

Trust (Temptation, #3)Trust by Ella Frank

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the first time that I’ve been exposed to Tate and Logan and their story, which might be a bit silly considering this is the third story about them. I didn’t have much trouble following the story, despite having missed so much of it as presented in the first two books. It also didn’t detract from my enjoyment of it, either. And I did enjoy it, a great deal. I love books like this anyway, as I find them very comforting, and I loved both Tate and Logan! They’re a great and lovely couple and I’m glad they had a happy ending, despite all that happened to them throughout this book.

I actually listened to this as an audiobook and greatly enjoyed the narrator’s performance. (I did think he became very very VERY excited during the steamier moments which was great. It just added to the general ambience of it, I thought). I have got the previous two books, also in audiobook format and I am very much looking forward to listening to them, too.

So yes. Great book. I enjoyed Ella Frank’s writing very much too. I’m looking forward to listening to this again.

View all my reviews

 Emerald Magic: Great Tales of Irish Fantasy

Emerald Magic: Great Tales of Irish FantasyEmerald Magic: Great Tales of Irish Fantasy by Andrew M. Greeley

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I greatly enjoyed this anthology of Irish fantasy stories. I love anything fantasy-based anyway, so it was nice to see some different takes on banshees, leprechauns and the like. There were even a couple of vampire tales in here, which I think were amongst my favourites (I absolutely love vampires.) This is another book which I know I will enjoy greatly when I re-read it in the future.

View all my reviews

The Hobbit by Tolkien

The HobbitThe Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I first read this book when I was seven (roughly about thirty years ago, now) and since then it has been amongst my favourite books to read. Once again, I greatly enjoyed it, yet I still can’t believe that I once read it in three hours. (really!!!). I don’t usually read that fast and I’ve certainly never done that again! 😄 The only thing I’m not too keen on with this, is the reasonably frequent propensity of the characters to burst into song! I usually skip the songs and get on with the prose. Obviously I enjoyed the films as much as the book (and became a fan of Luke Evans in the process! 😄 )

View all my reviews

The Leopard Gecko Manual by Phillipe De Vosjoli

The Leopard Gecko Manual: Includes African Fat-Tailed GeckosThe Leopard Gecko Manual: Includes African Fat-Tailed Geckos by Philippe De Vosjoli

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was an interesting informative book, featuring a lot of aspects about keeping leopard geckoes. There are some lovely photos too. There’s also information in the back about other breeds of geckoes, such as African fat-tailed geckoes and African clawed gecko, among others.

View all my reviews

BONUS: Top 10 Berlin 2016

Top 10 Berlin 2016Top 10 Berlin 2016 by Jürgen Scheunemann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Very interesting book, detailing all the must-see places in Berlin. Perfect for those who love Berlin (I do, even though I have never been … yet.)

View all my reviews

So there we are. Those are the books that I enjoyed the most this year. Hopefully 2017 will provide me with a lot more enjoyable things to read.

Leave a Reply

